Millennium Post

AIADMK nominee files papers for bypoll to Jaya’s constituency

AIADMK nominee S Valarmathi on Monday filed her nomination for the February 13 byelection to the prestigious Srirangam Assembly constituency, vacated by party supremo Jayalalithaa following her conviction in the disproportionate assets case.

Valarmathi, announced as the candidate by Jayalalithaa last week, filed her papers before the Returning Officer on the first day of nominations and within hours after notification for the bypoll was issued.

Joint District Secretary of AIADMK's Tiruchirappalli unit, Valarmathi was accompanied by state Minister T P Poonatchi, local MP BKumar and Rajya Sabha member T Rathinavel.

, Election Commission issued the notification for the bypoll, necessitated by disqualification of Jayalalithaa under the Representation of the People Act after she was sentenced to four years in jail by a special court on September 27 last year on the charges of amassing properties disproportionate to known sources of income when she was Chief Minister for the first time in 1991-95.

The last date for filing of nomination is January 27 and scrutiny would be done the next day while last day for withdrawal is January 30.

DMK has re-nominated N Anand, defeated by Jayalalithaa in 2011 Assembly elections. BJP has announced it, too, would contest the poll, while DMK chief M Karunanidhi has appealed to opposition parties to support his party's candidate to mark their protest against the 'anti-democratic' AIADMK regime.
Next Story
Share it