Millennium Post

Nepal's Left alliance headed for landslide victory, wins 106 seats

Nepals Left alliance headed for landslide victory, wins 106 seats
Kathmandu: An alliance of Nepal's main Communist party and former Maoist rebels is heading for a landslide victory and is expected to form the next government in Nepal, ousting the ruling Nepali Congress, after winning 106 seats in the historic provincial and parliamentary polls.
The CPN-UML led by former prime minister K P Oli and the CPN-Maoist led by former premier Prachanda have forged an electoral alliance for both the landmark polls, which is seen as a turning point after two decades of conflict and political instability in Nepal.
The poll outcome is expected to mark the end of Nepal's transition to federal democracy 11 years after the end of a brutal civil war in 2006. Since then, the Himalayan nation has seen 10 prime ministers.
According to results released by the Election Commission on Monday, the Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML) has won highest number of 74 seats, followed by its alliance partner CPN-Maoist Centre, which won 32 seats, out of the total 165 seats under the first-past-the-post election system.
As the Left alliance headed for a clear majority in the 275-member Parliament, Oli was being projected to succeed Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba.
Oli won from the Jhapa-5 constituency by more than 28,000 votes as he defeated Nepali Congress candidate Khagendra Adhikari. He polled 57,139 votes, the highest number of votes so far secured by any candidate in the election.
The CPN-Maoist Centre leader Prachanda was declared elected from Chitawan-3 constituency.
He defeated Bikram Pandey of Rastriya Prajatantra Party by more than 10,000 votes. Prachanda got
41,574 votes. AGENCIES

Next Story
Share it