Millennium Post

Macron awarded German European unity prize

Macron awarded German European unity prize

BERLIN: French President Emmanuel Macron has been awarded a prestigious German prize for contributions to European unity in recognition of his "vision of a new Europe."

The International Charlemagne Prize is awarded annually by the city of Aachen, near the Belgian and Dutch borders. Friday's citation pointed to Macron's "vision of a new Europe and of the re-establishment of the European project, of a new European sovereignty and a close, restructured cooperation between peoples and nations."
It said Macron's election in May "proved once again that Europe is indeed capable of generating enthusiasm."
The prize ceremony is held in May in AachenThe prize is named after the eight century Frankish king Charlemagne, often referred to as the "father of Europe."
Previous winners include former European Parliament President Martin Schulz, former President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy, current Council President Donald Tusk, former US President Bill Clinton and Popes Francis and John Paul II.
Meanwhile, French president Emmanuel Macron has made it clear he is against Donald Trump's move to recognise Jerusalem as the capital of Israel as France warns it's citizens of likely unrest in the region.
He called for "calm" and "responsibility" on all sides.
"We must avoid violence at all costs and prioritise dialogue," he said.

Next Story
Share it