Millennium Post

WB Govt sets up two task forces, for the Adivasis and the Gorkhas

The West Bengal Government, led by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, has laid a lot of stress on the development of the various communities of North Bengal, living in the Darjeeling Hills region and the Terai Dooars region. 

It has set up six development boards – for the Lepchas, Bhutias, Sherpas, Tamangs, Mangars and Khambu-Rais.

In continuing with that policy, the Government has decided to constitute two task forces – one each for the Adivasis of the Terai Dooars and the Gorkhas. The decisions were taken at the State Cabinet meeting on February 17.

This was publicly announced at a meeting of the Dooars Siliguri Terai Bhartiya Nepali Development Forum (DSTBNDB) on Tuesday by the State Sports and Youth Affairs Minister, Arup Biswas. 
These task forces would work the same way the development boards do.

The minister said that working for the people has always been the primary aim of the Mamata Banerjee Government.
Next Story
Share it