Millennium Post

UP polls: SP releases first list of candidates

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) on Friday released its first list of 143 candidates for the 2017 Assembly polls. 

“The party is declaring candidates for 143 seats. On these seats, the party does not have MLAs at present,” Samajwadi Party spokesman Shivpal Singh Yadav said.

The list includes 27 candidates from Muslim community, 18 from Yadav and 12 women, besides others. The state has 403 seats in total.

“The tickets were declared early so that the candidates could get more time for preparation. Of the 143 seats, 21 are reserved,” he added.

Among those who were given tickets include Umar Ali Khan, son-in-law of Imam of Delhi’s Jama Masjid; Syed Ahmad Bukhari from Behat seat, sitting Peace Party MLA Anis-ur-Rehman from Kanth; while Independent MLA Vijay Singh has been given a ticket from Farukhabad seat.

When asked about Azam Khan’s comments on Governor Ram Naik in the Assembly, Shivpal said he (Governor) was holding a constitutional post and should avoid meddling in such issues.
Next Story
Share it