Millennium Post

Unmukt hits third ton of season

Unmukt hits third ton of season
Unmukt made 117 off 236 balls with the help of 12 boundaries and added 70 runs for the second wicket with Virender Sehwag (39) to hold Delhi together after the early loss of skipper Gautam Gambhir (13). After the dismissal of Sehwag, Unmukt shared 122 runs with Mithun Manhas for the third wicket to take Delhi forward.

At stumps, Manhas was batting on 55 (152 balls, 4x4s, 1x6) and giving him company was wicket-keeper Punit Bisht, who is yet to open his account. Manan Sharma scored 14 while Rajat Bhatia made a duck. For Odisha, Biplab Samantaray (1/19), Govind Podder (1/24), Basant Mohanty (1/34), Deepak Behera (1/35) and Dhiraj Singh (1/64) were the wicket-takers.

BriefScores Delhi 1st innings: 248 for five in 84 overs (Unmukt Chand 117, Mithun Manhas 55 batting; Biplab Samantaray 1/19).

Saha hits unbeaten century
Not less than 48 hours after returning from the gruelling tour to Australia, wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha slammed an unbeaten century to script Bengal’s stunning comeback against Jammu and Kashmir on the opening day of a Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match on Sunday.

Having just returned from Australia on late Sunday night, Saha was quick to adjust to his home condition as his unbeaten 129 off 202 balls (18x4s, 1x6) took Bengal to 312 for seven at stumps from a precarious 68 for four at one stage after opting to bat at the Eden Gardens.

While a relaxed Saha led Bengal’s stunning comeback with his ninth first-class century, skipper Laxmi Ratan Shukla lent a fine support to the wicketkeeper with a defiant 72 from 123 balls (9x4s, 1x6) in a 144-run fifth wicket partnership. In the morning, Jammu and Kashmir skipper Parvez Rasool (2/57) rattled the Bengal top-order with two wickets in successive deliveries when the off-spinner dismissed Arindam Das (30) and castled Sudip Chatterjee (0) with a doosra in his second over.

Later, Jammu and Kahsmir new ball bowler Ram Dayal (2/88) scalped the in-form duo of Abhimanyu Easwaran (21) and skipper Manoj Tiwary (9) as Bengal lost four wickets in 19 runs and looked in dire straits at 98 for four at the lunch break.

BriefScores Bengal 1st innings 312 for seven (W Saha 129, Laxmi Ratan Shukla 72; Parvez Rasool 2/57)

At Nagpur Vidarbha v Saurashtra, Vidarbha 1st innings 352 for three (Ganesh Satish 167, Faiz Fazal 107)

At Ongole Andhra vs Tripura, Tripura 1st innings 151 all out (Rana Dutta 41; D Shivkumar 7/30), Andhra 1st innings 97 for four (Mohammed Kaif 40; Manisankar Murasingh 2/15)

At Ahmedabad Gujarat v Punjab, Gujarat 1st innings 284 for four (P Panchal 85, Venugopal Rao 75 not out)

At Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh vs Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh 1st innings 195 for one (Ankush Bains 110 not out, Ankit Kalsi 69 not out).
Next Story
Share it