Two senior officers of detective dept sent to compulsory waiting

Besides sending Joint Commissioner of Police (Crime) Debashis Boral and the second top officer of his department Deputy Commissioner –II (Detective Department) Nagendra Nath Tripathi to compulsory waiting, 16 other IPS officers along with eight IAS officers were reshuffled.

It may be recollected that the allegations of highhandedness of the police on the day of the elections in the city got established when the footage showing Tripathi slapping the owner of a renowned sweet shop in North Kolkata was telecast in different news channels. Sources in the Kolkata Police had then said that “usually action is taken against an officer for such an act. But in this case no such steps were taken against him by the then top brass of the city police considering that it would hurt the morale of the rank and file of the force”.

The officer of 2000 batch, Boral, whose name had cropped up over and again in connection with the Nandigram firing, had become the Joint Commissioner of Police (Crime) in December 2015. It may be mentioned that being a senior officer he was also in-charge of the Port area above the deputy Commissioner. There had been a buzz at the city police’s headquarter in Lalbazar that Boral will be sent to some other posts after the elections. The reason being there was escalation of certain problems in the Port area when it was in his charge, sources said.

Neeloo Sherpa (Chakraborty), the IPS of 2006, batch has become the Deputy Commissioner-II of the Kolkata Police’s Detective Department replacing Tripathi.  Sources said that the post of Joint Commissioner of Police (crime) will no more exist after Boral was sent to compulsory waiting and an IPS officer with a sound track record of solving criminal cases will be posted as Deputy Commissioner-I of the city police soon.

Among other IPS officers, P Nirajnarayan, who was the ADG and IGP (Administration), has become the Director of Civil Defence replacing Gangeswar Singh, who became the new ADG Intelligence Branch. Sudhir Mishra, who was the ADG of the State Crime Records Bureau, had become the new ADG (Administration).

Adhir Sharma, who was the ADG telecommunication, has become the ADG Railways replacing Mrityunjay Kumar Singh. Singh has been made the ADG provisioning. Ram Phal Pawar is the new ADG Anti-corruption Bureau and Rajesh Kumar has become the ADG of the Criminal Investigation Department.

Swati Bhangalia, who had given the guard of honour to the Chief Minister at Nabanna on the first day after taking the oath for the second term, has been made the ACP of Howrah Police Commissionerate.

Anil Roy, Indrajit Sarkar, Ases Bikram and Faruque Md Chowdhury have become the SDPO of Bongaon, Kandi, Kakdwip and Tufanganj respectively. Santosh Mondal, who was the SDPO of Kakdwip, has become the Assistant Commandant of EFR’s second battalion.

Among the IAS officers, CM Bachhawat has become the Additional Chief Secretary of the Consumer Affairs Department. Cancelling Tuesday’s order, four IAS officers BP Gopalika, Subrata Biswas, Onkar Singh Meena, Pritha Sarkar and Sanjay Bansal were being made the new principal Secretary of the Food Processing and Horticulture department, Principal Secretary of Co-operation department, Secretary of Municipal Affairs department with additional charge of Secretary Health and Family Welfare, Additional Secretary Health and Family Welfare department and District Magistrate (DM) of Hooghly respectively. Sanghamitra Ghosh has become the MD of National Health Mission and Mukta Arya is the new DM of New Jaiguri district.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it