Millennium Post

Top names of UP leaders missing in Rajnath’s team

Though BJP’s national president Rajnath Singh has given a fare representation to Uttar Pradesh – his home state – in his new team announced on Sunday but exclusion of senior names from the list shows party chief was relying on youth this time.

The major exclusion from the list were the names of Kalraj Mishra – senior party leader and vice-president in the outgoing team. Other prominent omissions from the team are senior party leaders from Bareilly Santosh Gangwar and Ashok Pradhan, who were secretaries in the previous regime

Mishra’s exclusion has surprised many because he was the Brahmin face of BJP in UP and in last assembly election. He was the only leader who survived the battle of ballots from Lucknow – where BJP lost 5 out of 6 assembly seats. With elections round the corner it was expected that Mishra would be given a honourable position in the party to keep Brahmins in a good humour.

A senior party leader said here on Sunday that exclusion of Mishra from the team shows that Rajnath Singh was given free hand in selecting his team members.

Another outgoing vice-president Vinay Katiyar was accommodated as a member of the Central election committee while former BJP president Murli Manohar Joshi continued as the member of both the Central Parliament and Central election committees.

 Team Rajnath promoted national secretary Varun Gandhi to the post of national general secretary while the national president’s political adviser Sudhanshu Trivedi Mittal was made the spokesperson along with Vijay Sonkar Shastri. Ram Lal, another name from UP, has been made the general secretary (organisation).

Of the 13 vice-presidents three are from UP. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi was renominated for the post while the two new ones are Uma Bharati and Satpal Mallick.  Anil Jain and Vinod Pandey would be the two secretaries from UP. Ramnath Kovid ,who was the spokesperson in the last committee, has now become General secretary in the state committee. Another senior BJP leader Shyamnandan Singh has been made the member of the central disciplinary committee.
Next Story
Share it