Millennium Post

Ton-up Vijay fashions India B’s triumph in Challenger

Ton-up Vijay fashions India B’s triumph in Challenger
India discard Murali Vijay [155] scored a superb hundred and shared a 192-run stand with Cheteshwar Pujara [79] as India B walloped India A by 139 runs to emerge champions in the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy tournament on Tuesday.

Electing to bat, India B scored a mammoth 356 for three and then bundled out India A for 217 in 42.1 overs to claim the winners trophy. India A fought through in-form batsmen in Shikhar Dhawan [61] and Ajinkya Rahane [64] but their middle-order let them down while chasing a huge target.

Rising young all-rounder Baba Aparajith scalped both Dhawan and Rahane and with that India A's challenge ended. Only Manish Pandey [47] and Abhimanyu Mithun [24] played some good knocks but that only reduced the defeat margin.

Stuart Binny was the most successful bowler for India B with three wickets at the cost of just 26 runs. India B batsmen took full advantage of the flat track as they sent the rival bowlers on leather-hunt.

Not only Vijay and skipper Puajara wielded their willows tremendously but Kedhar Jadhav also excelled by scoring an unbeaten knock of 60 runs. Jadhav's knock provided finishing touches to their innings as he rattled up a quick 79-run stand for the fourth wicket with Ravindra Jadeja [25].

BRIEF SCORES: India B: 356/6 in 50 overs [M Vijay 155, C Pujara 79]; India A: 217 all out in 42.1 overs.
Next Story
Share it