Millennium Post

TMC takes over gram panchayat after no confidence motion against Cong

A gram panchayat at South 24 Parganas, which was ruled by the Congress party for the last 25 years, will now be ruled by the Trinamool Congress. The erstwhile ruler Congress has lost in the no-confidence motion to Trinamool Congress on Thursday. 

The motion was called up by the member of the Dighirpar gram panchayat of South 24 Parganas, where Congress faced the loss. The Congress had 22 members out of 24 in that panchayat. The rest were from CPI(M) and Trinamool Congress.

Soon after the massive victory of Trinamool Congress led by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in Assembly elections in May, the 14 members of the Dighirpara panchayat had shifted them to the ruling party. Trinamool Congress then appealed for no-confidence motion to the Block Development Officer (BDO). On the other hand, Shefali Roy, the pradhan of Dighirpara gram panchayat had sent a letter to the Block Development Officer wishing to resign from the post on Monday afternoon. But the Block Development Officer refused to acknowledge her pledge saying she needs to stay till the all administrative was complete.

On Thursday, 15 members from the Trinamool Congress were present in no-confidence motion. But the members of Congres and CPI (M) were not present there. Thus, Congress lost the motion as BDO conveyed the message. Although, Trinamool Congress has won the no-confidence motion, they have not yet formed the board.

The Congress leaders, however, have alleged that those members who have left the party were corrupted. They have left the party for money and position. The Trinamool Congress, however, alleged that the Congress board was corrupted there and contributed no development in the area. However, CPI(M) members were not found for comments. The block administration is now trying hard to form the board as soon as possible.
Next Story
Share it