Millennium Post

Three rebel outfits sign peace accords

In a first step towards ushering in peace in insurgency-ravaged Manipur, a tripartite Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between the central and Manipur governments and three secessionist outfits.

The three outlawed rebel outfits which signed the agreement include United Revolutionary Front (URF), Lamphel faction of the Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP-L) and the MDF faction of the Kanglei Yawol Kanna Lup (KYKL-MDF). The three outfits have been waging war against the Indian state, seeking an independent Manipur.

The Union govt was represented by the joint secretary of the home ministry in-charge of north east affairs, Shambu Singh; and the Manipur government was represented by principal secretary in-charge of home, J. Suresh.  The URF was represented by its chairman, Khwairakpam Gopendro Singh, the KCP-L by its military chief Naorem Brojen Meitei, and the KYKL-MDF by its chairman Maisnam Athouba.
Next Story
Share it