Millennium Post

Telangana Legislative council elections today

The ruling TRS in Telangana appeared to have an edge to get its fifth candidate elected in the election, to be held on Monday, to fill six seats in the Legislative Council.

The election is necessitated after opposition parties filed disqualification petitions against some MLAs who joined the ruling party post last year's assembly polls and there are seven candidates in fray for six seats in the council, to be voted by the MLAs.

TRS has fielded five candidates while opposition Congress and the TDP-BJP combine have fielded one candidate each.

The TRS had won 63 seats in the 119-member Assembly in last year's elections, but several MLAs from Congress, TDP and YSR Congress joined the ruling party subsequently.

The opposition parties have filed disqualification petitions against such MLAs.

The TRS is now said to enjoy the support of 75 MLAs while a TDP MLA M Krishna Rao reportedly pledged support to the ruling party on Saturday. 

Tight security for Formation Day  
Ahead of week-long Telangana Formation Day celebrations that begin from June 2, senior police officials on Sunday reviewed arrangements at Parade Ground in Secunderabad– venue for celebrations.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it