Millennium Post

‘Teachers are strongest pillars of society’

Addressing the gathering on this occasion, the Deputy CM said: “We felicitate our stars in sports, cinema, and other fields at grand ceremonies. You teachers are the ones who make them stars; an awards function for you must be of a grander scale, and that is what we have organised today (Monday).” 

The awarded teachers received citations from Sunita Kaushik, Additional, Director (Education), Delhi government and Punya Shrivastava,  Secretary (Education). Video messages from eminent personalities like Nobel laureate Kailash Satyarthi, Olympic medallists Sakshi Malik and PV Sindhu, among others were also played. 

“Teachers are the strongest pillars of society and should be encouraged towards leadership. They carry the great responsibility of grooming and educating a whole new generation. We are honouring those who shape the future of the country,” Sisodia said.   He also promised that the function next year will be even bigger and would be recognised across Delhi as the most prestigious awards ceremony in the city. 

The invaluable contributions of teachers must be awarded and celebrated in the best way possible, and the Delhi government is committed to establishing an environment where teachers are the most important stakeholders in our education system. 

Besides Sisodia, others who attended the ceremony included Delhi Chief Secretary K K Sharma, Punya Shrivastava, Secretary (Education), Saumya Gupta, Director (Education), Sunita Kaushik, Additional Director (Education) of the Delhi government and the teachers from government and private schools. 

Earlier in the day, President of India Pranab Mukherjee delivered an hour-long lesson at Dr Rajendra Prasad Sarvodaya Vidyalaya School, located within the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

During the function, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia released the school souvenir Nayi zindagi Ki umang, swachh urja ke sang and presented a copy of the souvenir to the President. 

Teachers’ Day is celebrated on the birth anniversary of India’s second President Dr S Radhakrishnan, a revered educationist, philosopher and recipient of highest civilian honour of the country Bharat Ratna.  
Next Story
Share it