Millennium Post

Sujan Chakraborty becomes leader of LF legislature party

Sujan Chakraborty has been elected as the leader of the Left Front legislature party. The Left Front has 32 MLAs in the new government, the smallest in the past four decades. Of these CPI(M) has 26 MLAs while RSP, Forward Bloc and CPI has 3, 2, 1 legislators. The Front partners have made scathing attack on the CPI(M) and held it responsible for the poll debacle. 

The CPI and the RSP leaders said that the CPI(M)’s hobnobbing with the Congress ignoring the Front partners was “uncalled for and shocking”. They further alleged that in many seats, the CPI(M) had supported Congress candidate against Left Front nominee like Alipurduar where veteran RSP leader Nirmal Das was the candidate. 

They further alleged that the matter of forming an alliance with Congress was never discussed in the Left Front and the CPI(M) had taken the decision on its own. The leaders felt that Left Front could have done better had the alliance was not there.  

It may be mentioned that the apprehension by some leaders of the CPI(M) that both the Left Front and Congress would be marginalised if they fought separately  had prompted to make the tie up.
Nowhere in the past the CPI(M) had been so bitterly criticised by the Left Front partners. 

The CPI(M) and LF partners apprehend that there will be exodus of supporters to the TMC and the BJP due to the poor performance in election.  The leaders have realised that it would be difficult for them to woo young supporters.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it