Millennium Post

Suchith shines as K’taka beat B’desh A by 4 wkts

Left-arm orthodox bowler Jagadeesha Suchith returned with an impressive six-wicket haul to set the platform for Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka’s four-wicket win over Bangladesh A in the final day of <g data-gr-id="24">three-day</g> match here on Thursday.

Suchith (6/60) ran through Bangladesh A’s middle and lower order to help Karnataka bowl out the visitors for 309 in their second innings, thereby setting up a target of 181 runs to win before the hosts, which they overwhelmed in 40.5 overs by losing six wickets.

Skipper CM Gautam scored a quickfire 49 off 35 <g data-gr-id="21">balls,</g> while Shreyas Gopal remained unbeaten on 40. Other notable run getters for Karnataka during their chase were Abhishek Reddy (36), Shishir Bhavane (24) and Mayank Agarwal (23).

For Bangladesh A, pacer Al-Amin Hossain (2/23) and left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib (2/55) shared four wickets between them. Earlier resuming their second innings at the overnight score of 188 for three Liton Das (38) managed to add just one run to his last night’s score before he was dismissed by medium pacer Muralikrishna Prasidh Krishna, caught by Robin Uthappa in the second over of the day.
<g data-gr-id="22">Liton’s</g> overnight partner Soumya Sarkar (43) added 19 more runs against his name before pacer HS Sharath induced an edge from the left-hander which was gladly accepted by Gautam.

Thereafter, Nasir Hossain (44) and Shuvagata Hom (50 not out) shared 61 runs for the sixth wicket before Suchith came to the party and destroyed Bangladesh A’s innings.
Next Story
Share it