State BJP appoints new dist presidents

In a bid to show a clean image of the party, the state BJP has changed its district presidents, who will start working from Saturday.

The old district presidents, who were close to the former president Rahul Sinha, have been replaced by those who are close to RSS. 

With the appointment of Dilip Ghosh, as the state president, the grip of RSS over the state unit had increased. Ghosh was a pracharak in Andamans before he joined the BJP around six months ago.

Meanwhile, Roopa Ganguly, who is now in Santiniketan in connection with Poush Mela, is talking to people and party workers in a bid to build mass contact which is BJP’s plan in the next two months. Birbhum is party’s stronghold and Dudkumar Mondol, who had been suspended during Sinha’s time, has been rehabilitated and made a state committee member. 

Party insiders believe that  Mondol will put up a strong fight against Trinamool’s Anubrata Mondol, who is the district president.

Party insiders said that even the central leadership had believed that the party could not grow in the state despite tremendous Modi wave in 2014 Lok Sabha polls due to Rahul Sinha. 

Though Sinha’s tenure as the president had ended much early, a section of leaders felt that he should be kept till the Assembly polls in 2016. But this group later changed its mind after the leaders received series of complaints including those of financial irregularities against him.

Meanwhile, some party insiders believe that the changes made by the party’s national leaders in unusual alacrity will not be effective as Ghosh is an unknown figure even in Kolkata and it would be difficult for him to develop contacts with public.
M Post Bureau

M Post Bureau

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it