Millennium Post

Stakes high as Aus face B’desh

On the backfoot after losing to New Zealand in their tournament-opener, Australia would aim for a big win over Bangladesh when the two teams clash in a Super 10 Group 2 match of the ICC World Twenty20 here on Monday.

Both teams go into Monday’s match after enduring losses as Bangladesh had been beaten by Pakistan in their lung- opener. At stake is survival for both the sides given that a loss would mean near ouster from the tournament.

Australia would be fancied to win the match even though their big guns in batting, including David Warner and Steve Smith, failed to come good in the previous match. The formidable Aussie line-up would look to get into the groove in Monday’s match and be ready for the tougher challenges ahead.

The Aussie middle-order, which collapsed in a heap against New Zealand, would also be expected to deliver Monday. Warner, Smith, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Marsh had failed with their bats collectively against the trans-Tasmanian rivals. Australian bowling attack, however, can draw confidence from its performance as it had restricted New Zealand to 142 for eight.

Nathan Coulter-Nile, Australia’s strike bowler, would love to be among wickets, along with James Faulkner and Maxwell. Last match was fruitful for them as they bagged two wickets each, while Watson and Marsh grabbed a wicket each.

The Australian think tank could also consider including Aaron Finch, who was left out inspite of being the Number One in the ICC T20 international rankings.

Bangladesh, who are no pushovers, would like to forget the loss to Pakistan and take a cue from their Asia Cup performance, where they entered the finals, but eventually lost to India.

Teams (from):
Australia: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa .

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Tamin Iqbal. Match starts: 7:30pm (IST).
Next Story
Share it