Millennium Post

Stage calls

Bringing together the best of Indian theatre from the year gone by, the Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards and Festival (META) announced the schedule of performances for nominated plays to be staged in the Capital between March 21 and 26. The 2015 META Jury comprises distinguished Theatre Personality Amal Allana; Theatre Writer, Editor and Critic Anjum Katyal; renowned Theatre Artist, Neelam Mansingh; Theatre, TV and Film Director and Writer Ranjeet Kapoor; and Film, Theatre and Television Actor Saurabh Shukla.

In celebration of the 10th edition of META, the commemorative book Curtain Call: Celebrating Indian Theatre was  released at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi by Jury member Amal Allana, META Creative Director Ravi Dubey, Jay Shah- Head Cultural Outreach of Mahindra and Mahindra and Sanjoy Roy - M.D of Teamwork Arts.

Commenting on the awards, Jury member Amal llana said, “META has provided encouragement and hope to theatre workers across the country that it is an art form worth pursuing  in a very simple and effective way-by recognizing excellence and applauding it.”

In its journey with Indian theatre, META has sought not only to showcase the best performances, productions and talents, but also the myriad tangents of life and society that inspire theatre. A telling reflection of its journey, several of META’s nominated plays have thrown up contemporary issues as well as highlighted centuries old fault lines, which plague the society at large. Over the years META’s nominated plays have touched upon issues like gender equality, political freedom, environmental concerns, condition of labourers, caste issues, communal tension, challenges in the Indian North-East, dysfunctional families, and displacement of Kashmiri Pandits amongst many more.

The shortlisted productions will be staged at LTG Auditorium and Kamani Auditorium in Delhi from 21st March to the 26th March. For more information on the nominees and full list of category wise nominations, please visit The 2015 Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awardswill be given away at a red carpet ceremony on March 27at the Taj Mahal Hotel, No. 1 Man Singh Road, New Delhi.

Next Story
Share it