Millennium Post

Sreejesh, Deepika win HI Player of the Year award

India goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and Deepika won the Dhruv Batra Player of the Year award for men and women, respectively, at the Hockey India second annual awards here on Saturday.

Both Sreejesh and Deepika bagged Rs. 25 lakh and a trophy each for their achievement. The late capt. Shankar Laxman won the coveted Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement award with a cash prize of Rs 30 lakh and a trophy.

The milestone awards were presented to Dharamvir Singh, Kothajit Singh, Birendra Lakra and Sushila Chanu for making 100th appearance for India. All of them were presented with a cheque of Rs. 50,000 and a trophy each.

Gurbaj Singh and V R Raghunath were awarded for turning out in India colours for the 200th time and were presented with a cheque of Rs. one lakh each along with a trophy. 
Next Story
Share it