Millennium Post

SP, BSP top bosses wield the axe for poor poll show

Shattered by BJP’s performance in the recently concluded Lok Sabha polls, top bosses of both the Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party took all their leaders to task for their poor performances. UP CM Akhilesh Yadav sacked 36 leaders, who had earlier held the status of minister of state. 

BSP chief Mayawati sacked members from all organisational units and said that these bodies will be re-constituted.  The SP won just five seats, while BSP drew a blank. Sources said that Akhilesh Yadav gave marching orders to 36 leaders, including five from the minority community. The chief minister, however, ruled out his own resignation. ‘The reasons of the party’s poor show are being reviewed’, he said. 

Prominent among those removed are Narendra Bhati and Surendra Mohan Agarwal, who lost the Gautam Buddh Nagar and Kanpur seats respectively and RLD turncoat Anuradha Chowdhury. Other leaders include traders’ body leader Sandeep Bansal, ex-Agra mayor Anjula Mahaur, Surabhi Shukla, Ranjana Bajpai, KC Pandey, Kamlesh Pathak, Ashu Malik, Satish Dixit and Manoj Rai. ‘Those from the minority community include Anis Mansori, Mohammad Abbas, Iqbal Ali, Haji Iqram and Kamruddin’, the source said. Raja Chaturvedi and Ram Singh Rana, former student leaders, were also sacked. 

Mayawati, who reviewed the BSP’s performance with office bearers and leaders in a meeting at the party office here, dissolved all assembly, district and state-level committees of the party, BSP sources said. BSP, which had 20 MPs in the last Lok Sabha, failed to open its account this time.  

Next Story
Share it