Millennium Post

Sinha again: Ranjit Sinha’s prodigy Anil Sinha is new CBI chief

Chief Justice of India HL Dattu, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge and Modi were a part of the collegium meeting to decide on the next CBI chief. Anil Sinha served as the CBI Special Director till Tuesday.
“The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved theappointment of Shri Anil Kumar Sinha, IPS (1979 batch) as Director, Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) for a period of two years from the date of assumption of charge of the post vice Shri Ranjit Sinha, IPS (BH:1974) consequent on completion of his tenure on 02.12.2014,” the PIB notification said.

Sinha who retired on Tuesday was removed by the Supreme Court from the investigation of the 2G spectrum case just few weeks ago, based on evidence that he tried to influence the probe and met with several accused at his Delhi residence.

According to reports, over 40 people were short-listed for the post. In addition to Anil Sinha, senior IPS officer Sharad Kumar were topping consideration for the post. Among the other names doing rounds for the top post were Director General of Rajasthan Police Omendra Bharadwaj and Special Secretary in Home Ministry Prakash Mishra. They are 1977-batch IPS officers from Rajasthan and Odisha respectively. KS Balasubramaniam, a 1978-batch IPS officer and at present Chief of Kerala police, was also reported to be in the race for the post.

Last week, Parliament cleared a change in rules to allow the largest opposition party to participate in the selection process even if it does not qualify for the post of Leader of Opposition.The Congress, which lost the May national election and won just 44 seats, fell short of the 55 seats needed to make the cut.
Next Story
Share it