Millennium Post

Shillong Lajong hold Bagan

Mohun Bagan were denied a lead twice as a determined Shillong Lajong FC forced a 2-2 result in the 22nd round of the I-league in the Kalyani Stadium on Thursday.

Following a barren first half, Mohun Bagan forged the lead through their Australian striker Tolgay Ozbey in the 52nd minute before Lajong FC found the equaliser within a minute off Boithang Haokip.

Mohun Bagan regained their lead at the hour mark off substitute Manish Maithani. Mohun Bagan’s lead was neutralised once again as Lajong FC substitute PC Lahimthara nodded home the equaliser to determine the fate of the match.

Pune FC cruised to a comfortable 2-0 victory over defending champions Dempo SC at the Balewadi Sports Complex, on Thursday.

First-half strikes from midfielder Sukhwinder Singh (30th minute) and striker James Moga (44th) settled the tie in Pune FC’s favour.

With this win, Pune FC completed a double over Dempo SC after beating the Goans 5-1 earlier in the season. The victory propelled Pune FC into third place with 37 points from 20 games over their opponents who dropped to fourth place with 35 points from 21 games.

ONGC capitalised on the advantage of Sporting being reduced to 10-member side as they came from behind to hold the hosts to a 1-1 draw. East Bengal meanwhile face Prayag United on Friday and will look to avenge Shield defeat.
Next Story
Share it