Millennium Post

Shashi Tharoor, Thomas set to be back in fray

Union ministers Shashi Tharoor and KV Thomas are among the 15 candidates to be put up by Congress in Kerala for the Lok Sabha polls.

The candidates list submitted by the state unit and approved by AICC retained most of the sitting MPs, including three other Union ministers from the state – Mullapally Ramachandran (Vatakara), KC Venugopal (Alappuzha) and Kodikunnil Suresh (Mavelikkara), according to party sources here.

Renomination of party spokesman PC Chacko, who headed the JPC on the 2G spectrum scam, from his sitting seat Thrissur is yet to be decided while PT Thomas, sitting MP from Idukki, has been dropped, the sources said. The list is to be officially announced by AICC on Thursday.

Chief minister Oommen Chandy, KPCC president VM Sudheeran and home minister Ramesh Chennithala had held discussions with AICC office bearers in charge of the state. Tharoor will be seeking a second term from Thiruvananthapuram while Thomas is making his second consecutive bid from his home turf Ernakulam.
Next Story
Share it