Millennium Post

Seven JMM panchayat members from Banarhat join TMC

Seven Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) members elected to Banarhat II gram panchayat on Sunday joined the Trinamool Congress, bolstering the ruling party’s strength to 15 from eight.

Among the seven JMM members was the panchayat pradhan Sangita Oraon. State tribal development minister James Kujur and Jalpaiguri MP Bijoy Krishna Barman handed over Trinamool Congress flags to the seven panchayat members at a function held here.

Banarhat II gram panchayat of Palasbari area in Dhupguri block of the district now has four members of the Congress and one Gorkha Janmukti Morcha member in the opposition.

Next Story
Share it