Millennium Post

Seemandhra teachers begin strike against bifurcation, YSR widow’s fast enters fourth day

Over two lakh government teachers in Seemandhra Thursday joined the ongoing indefinite strike by the employees to oppose bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

Meanwhile, YSR Congress party honorary president Y.S. Vijayamma, legislators of YSR Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and other political and non-political groups continued their hunger strike. Vijayamma’s fast entered the fourth day Thursday at Guntur. TDP’s legislator P. Raghunath Reddy also continued his hunger strike at Puttaparthi in Anantapur district.

More than 50,000 government schools in Seemandhra, as Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra regions are collectively known, remained shut Thursday as the teachers hit the roads demanding that the centre roll back its decision to carve out separate Telangana state. The strike, which will affect about 50 lakh students in 13 districts of Seemandhra, has been called by the Samaikhyandhra Teachers Struggle Committee, comprising 16 teacher unions.

According to the committee, 2.5 lakh teachers are participating in the strike. Over four lakh government employees are already on strike to protest the July 30 decision of the Congress Working Committee (CWC) to bifurcate the state. The strike by employees entered the 10th day Thursday.

Road transport remained paralysed in Seemandhra as 12,000 buses of state-owned Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation (APSRTC) were still off the roads.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it