Millennium Post

Sania mirza officially crowned World No.1

Sania mirza officially crowned World No.1
Sania Mirza on Monday officially became the first Indian woman tennis player to be ranked world number one in doubles after WTA unveiled its latest list on Monday. The Indian ace has risen three rungs in the charts with 7660 points to dethrone Italy’s Sara Errani (7640 points). The jump follows her stupendous title win at the WTA Family Circle Cup with partner Martina Hingis in Charleston.

The top-seeded Indo-Swiss pair blew away the challenge of Casey Dellacqua and Darija Jurak 6-0, 6-4 to win the $731,000 clay court event. Sania took 470 points from the win in the official list. Before Sania, only Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi had achieved the top rank when they dominated men’s doubles circuit in the ‘90s.

Sania tweets ‘on top of the world’

Sania Mirza tweeted she was ‘on top of the world’ after she was officially crowned world no. 1 in the WTA ranking for women’s doubles that was released on Monday. “On top of the world” tweeted the tennis ace in the evening. Her statemate and shuttle queen Saina Nehwal tweeted: “MirzaSania World number 1 in doubles congratulations huge achievement. All the very best for future.” “First Saina and now @MirzaSania. Indian women conquering the No.1 spot and making us proud! Congratulations!” tweeted Test skipper Virat Kohli. In a dig at her detractors, Sania also tweeted, “I also wanna thank the ppl who didn’t believe in me”.

Sania to spearhead Indian challenge in Fed Cup

India will be led by newly-crowned world number one Sania Mirza as 11 nations will strive to get promotion to Asia/Oceania Group I when the Fed Cup begins here on Tuesday. Since Iraq has opted out, 11 countries would compete in the Group II this year, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Oman, Pacific Oceania, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka and Turkmenistan.

Sania will be India’s playing-captain and it will be interesting to see if she plays singles. India’s No. 1 singles player Ankita Raina, Natasha Palha and Prarthana G Thombare are the other members of the team. The Fed Cup, launched in 1963, is the world’s largest annual international team competition in women’s tennis, with 99 nations taking part in 2015. The tournament which ends on April 18 would be held on Round-robin basis.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it