Home > Sports > Saha set for return as Pujara leads Rest in Irani Cup

Saha set for return as Pujara leads Rest in Irani Cup

 Agencies |  2017-01-15 22:50:31.0  |  New Delhi

A fit again Wriddhiman Saha was, on Saturday, named in the Rest of India squad that will take on first-time Ranji Trophy champions in the Irani Cup to be held in Mumbai from January 20-24. Cheteshwar Pujara will lead the 15-man squad comprising Karun Nair, who made waves with a triple hundred against England in the fifth and final Test in Chennai. 

The selection of Tamil Nadu opener Abhinav Mukund, Jharkhand keeper-batsman Ishan Kishan and tournament top-wicket taker Shahbaz Nadeem (56 wickets), shows that consistent performances in the Ranji Trophy have been rewarded. It will also be a contest of sorts between Saha and opposition captain Parthiv Patel, who replaced the former in the England series and did a decent job in the subsequent three Test matches. Rest of India team: Abhinav Mukund, Akhil Herwadkar, Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Karun Nair, Manoj Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha, Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Pankaj Singh, K Vignesh, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Akshay Wakhare, Ishan Kishan, Prashant Chopra. 



Millennium Post Contributors help bring you the latest news around you.

Share it