Millennium Post

Rohit, Warner in verbal spat

Rohit, Warner in verbal spat
Tempers flared once again during the second one-dayer of the ongoing cricket tri-series when Indian opener Rohit Sharma and Australian batsman David Warner got involved in a verbal exchange at the MCG on Sunday. The incident happened in the 23rd over of India’s innings, when Sharma pushed a James Faulkner delivery to mid-off and Warner threw the ball towards the striker’s end but the ball went through Sharma’s legs and wicket-keeper Brad Haddin missed it as India stole a single. Warner and Sharma were then engaged in a verbal spat for a brief time after the opener ran for an overthrow. In the end, it took the umpires a fair few minutes to separate the two of them. The four-match Test series, which preceded the tri-series, was also marred by incidents of altercation between Indian and Australian players, including Virat Kohli, Warner and Mitchell Johnson.

Rohit Sharma c Maxwell b Starc 138, Shikhar Dhawan c Finch b Starc 2, Ajinkya Rahane c Haddin b Sandhu 12, Virat Kohli c Bailey b Faulkner 9, Suresh Raina c Maxwell b Starc 51, MS Dhoni b Starc 19, Axar Patel lbw b Starc 0, R Ashwin not out 14, Bhuvneshwar Kumar b Starc 0, Mohammed Shami not out 2; Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 15, nb 1) 20; Total (for eight wickets in 50 overs) 267; FoW 1-3 (Dhawan, 0.5 overs), 2-33 (Rahane, 7.2), 3-59 (Kohli, 12.5), 4-185 (Raina, 34.6), 5-237 (Dhoni, 44.2), 6-237 (Patel, 44.4), 7-262 (Sharma, 48.4), 8-262 (Kumar, 48.5); Bowling Mitchell Starc 10-2-43-6, Pat Cummins 10-0-52-0, Gurinder Sandhu 10-0-58-1, James Faulkner 10-0-63-1, Shane Watson 8-0-33-0, Glenn Maxwell 2-0-14-0

Aaron Finch c Dhoni b Yadav 96, David Warner c Raina b Yadav 24, Shane Watson b Patel 41, Steven Smith c Ashwin b Mohammed Shami 47, Glenn Maxwell c & b Kumar 20, George Bailey st Dhoni b Ashwin 5, Brad Haddin not out 13, James Faulkner not out 9; Extras (lb 3, w 11) 14; Total (for six wickets in 49 overs) 269; FoW 1-51 (Warner, 9.1 overs), 2-115 (Watson, 22.4), 3-216 (Smith, 39.4), 4-219 (Finch, 40.1), 5-230 (Bailey, 43.2), 6-248 (Maxwell, 46.3); Bowling B Kumar 9.5-0-44-1, Umesh Yadav 10-1-55-2, Md Shami 8.1-0-44-1, Axar Patel 10-0-45-1, R Ashwin 9-0-54-1, Suresh Raina 2-0-24-0.
Next Story
Share it