Millennium Post

Resentment among U’khand BJP leaders over ticket distribution

Resentment among U’khand BJP leaders over ticket distribution
With nearly all Congress turncoats fielded by the BJP for the February 15 Uttarakhand Assembly polls, resentment prevails among a section of trusted party leaders who have been denied tickets to make room for candidates imported from outside.

There are at least 20 seats where strong ticket contenders have been disappointed giving rise to the possibility that some of them may enter the fray as independents or work to spoil the prospects of the party’s official nominees.

While most of the disappointed contenders are yet to disclose their cards, they make no bones about their feeling of being left out.

With Congress turncoat Subodh Uniyal fielded from Narendranagar, BJP’s very own Om Gopal Rawat, a former MLA who had consistently nursed the constituency has announced his intention to contest as an independent from the seat.

There is discontent among party leaders in almost all seats from where Congress rebels have been fielded.

Former legislator Asha Nautiyal who was expecting a ticket from Kedarnath is unhappy with Congress turncoat Shailarani Rawat fielded from the seat.

Similarly, former MLA Shailendra Singh Rawat is disappointed over Harak Singh Rawat being fielded from Kotdwar.

Former MLA Suresh Chand Jain is sulking in Roorkee from where Pradip Batra has been declared the party’s official nominee.

Jain said he feels cheated and will certainly contest for development of the town.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it