Millennium Post

Renjith wins maiden gold, Preeja signs off with silver

Renjith wins maiden gold, Preeja signs off with silver
But what remained unchallenged was the Services Sports Control Board’s (SSCB) domination on the medals table as they remained on top with a tally of 131 (81 gold, 23 silver and 27 bronze so far).

Hosts Kerala displaced Haryana from the second spot owing to a strong athletics performance to total 119 (34 gold, 37 silver and 48 bronze). Haryana took the third spot with 33 gold, 37 silver and 22 bronze.

Amid a sea of meet records tumbling, a new national record was created when Haryana’s Rajinder Singh cleared 82.23m to better the 80.72m mark of Anil Kumar Singh (2008). SSCB’s Davinder Singh (75.34m) and Uttar Pradesh’s Vipin Kasana (75.18m) were the respective silver and bronze medallists. Elsewhere, veteran long-distance runner Preeja Sreedharan bid adieu to the track with a 10,000m silver even as another local lady O P Jaisha stole the limelight by collecting her second gold medal at the Games with a new meet record of 33:08.55sec.

She had earlier won the 5000m gold with a meet record. Sreedharan clocked 34:58.85sec in her final race egged on by an enthusiastic crowd at University Stadium. Maharashtra’s Swati Gadhave had to be content with a bronze after finishing in 34:59.73sec. Former Commonwealth Games bronze-medallist Renjith got over the disappointment of disaqualification in men’s long jump by shattering the meet record in triple jump for a gold medal.

The 29-year-old, who won bronze medals in the past two National Games, cleared 16.66m to better the 16.62m record set by Arpinder Singh in the 2011 Games. The silver went to defending champion Arpinder (16.41m), while the bronze was clinched by SSCB’s Rakesh Babu (16.29m). There was a massive upset in the men’s 400m hurdles when former Asian Games gold-medallist and the national and meet record holder Joseph Abraham was disqualified for a false start, leading to the crowning of a new champion in SSCB’s Durgesh Kumar much to the disappointment of home fans. Durgesh could not breach the meet record but nabbed top honours clocking 50.66sec. M Ramachandran took the silver after clocking 50.93sec, while the bronze was taken by Tamil Nadu’s Binauaquito Thyagarajan (51.74sec).

Abraham’s disqualification was a massive blow for hosts Kerala, who were banking on him for a sure-shot gold. But Anu Raghavan ensured that the capacity crowd had something to celebrate when she notched up the 400m women’s hurdles gold medal. Anu clocked 58.63sec to finish ahead of Haryana’s Santosh Kumari (59.63sec) and Kerala’s VV Jisha (1:00.93sec).

The first track and field event of the day was the women’s 100m hurdles and a new meet record was set when Tamil Nadu’s G Gayathry completed the race ion 13.66sec to beat the previous mark of 13.81sec created by Anuradha Biswal in 2002. Karnataka’s Meghna Shetty (13.89sec) and Tamil Nadu’s Deepika (13.96) ended up being the silver and a bronze medal winners respectively.
Next Story
Share it