Millennium Post

Regular procedure followed, says AAP MLAs

A day after the Election Commission issued show-cause notices to 27 AAP MLAs on a petition seeking their disqualification for allegedly holding office-of-profit, they said that regular procedure was followed for their appointment.

“We have just received the notice. We will thoroughly analyse it and file an appropriate response,” said Laxmi Nagar MLA Nitin Tyagi.  

According to the petition of law student Vibhor Anand, these MLAs hold posts of Chairperson in Rogi Kalyan Samitis (RKSs) of different government hospitals in Delhi.

Tyagi said that these Samitis were set up for the first time by the Sheila Dikshit government in 2009.

“Rogi Kalyan Samitis are being formed for several years. And, same procedure was followed this time as well. There has been no aberration,” he added. 

Shalimar Bagh MLA Bandana Kumari added that the Commission has given them time till November 11 to file a response and the AAP MLAs will do so after going through the details of the notice. The petition was initially sent to President Pranab Mukherjee in June. Last month, Rashtrapati Bhavan forwarded the complaint to the Election Commission. 
Next Story
Share it