Millennium Post

Rebel Indian tennis players form new association

In a bid to make their voices heard by the tennis administration, India’s rebel tennis players formed Indian Tennis Players Association (ITPA) with former Davis Cup captain Jaidip Mukerjea as its interim president. Besides Mukerjea, other founding members of ITPA are Mahesh Bhupathi, Enrico Piperno, Manisha Malhotra, Prahalad Srinath, Somdev Devvarman, Rohan Bopanna, Aditya Sachdeva Mustafa Ghouse and All India Tennis Association vice-president Karti P Chidambaram. India’s only Olympic tennis medallist Leander Paes, however, is not among the founding members.

ITPA said its membership is open to all current and former international and national tennis players. ‘It will primarily function as a forum and platform to represent the professional interests of its members and, thereby, improve the standard of tennis in the country,’ ITPA said.

All members will have equal voting rights and will participate in a democratic process to elect a general body that will be responsible for the operations of ITPA. ITPA will work on the overall development of the sport from the players’ perspective and will also focus energies on building programmes that will address the welfare of former players and mentors.
Next Story
Share it