Millennium Post

Punjab beat Bengal

Punjab came up with a fine allround performance to register a 25-run victory over Bengal in the Super League (Group B) match of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament on Thursday.

Electing to bat, Punjab scored 168 for six in their stipulated 20 overs, and then restricted Bengal to 143 for eight. Opener Ravinder Singh scored a quickfire 46-ball 60, studded with eight fours and a six, to lay a solid platform.

Mayank Sidana (30) and Gurkeerat Singh (27) then made valuable contributions to take the team to a competitive total. For Bengal, Sayan Mondal (2/21), Shami Ahmed (2/30) and Sanjib Sanyal (2/35) chipped in with two wickets each.

In reply to Punjab’s total, Bengal kept on losing wickets at regular intervals with Siddarth Kaul (2/24), Amitoze Singh (2/25), Rahul Sharma (2/32) and Rajwinder Singh (2/32) claiming two each.

Shreevats Goswami top scored with 33 from 27 balls with the help of six boundaries.

Briefscores: Punjab: 168 for six in 20 overs (Ravinder Singh 60, Mayank Sidana 30; Sayan Mondal 2/21); Bengal: 143 for eight in 20 overs (Shreevats Goswami 33, W Saha 22; Siddarth Kaul 2/24, Amitoze Singh 2/25).


Riding on Md Kaif’s knock of 70, UP got the better of Karnataka by 10 runs in a Super League (Group B) match. Kaif smashed his way to 54-ball 70 laced with three fours and four sixes to take UP to a competitive 163 for seven in their allotted 20 overs. Chasing the target, Karnataka got off to a poor start to be struggling at 31 for three. Although K Lokesh (34), Stuart Binny (39) and Karun Nair (29) consolidated the innings, the tail crumbled under pressure to fell short by 10 runs.
Next Story
Share it