Millennium Post

Prez forwards fresh petition against 27 AAP lawmakers to EC

President Pranab Mukherjee has forwarded to the Election Commission (EC) a fresh petition against 27 AAP MLAs for allegedly holding office of profit, a move that may see the party defending another set of its lawmakers in protracted legal battle.

Sources in the Commission confirmed that the petition filed by law student, Vibhor Anand, before the President has reached the poll panel. 

They said forwarding of the complaint to the Commission is part of the procedure and now it will be examined by the poll body. 

The petition filed in June had sought cancellation of membership of 27 AAP MLAs over the office of profit issue. 

The 27 MLAs include seven legislators against whom the EC is already considering a similar plea for holding the office of parliamentary secretaries. The list also includes Delhi Assembly Speaker Ram Niwas Goel, his deputy Rakhi Birla and former deputy speaker Bandana Kumari. 
Next Story
Share it