Millennium Post

Panel okays visa on arrival facility at 5 more airports

On Wednesday the third inter-ministerial coordination committee on tourism sector was held in the capital. The committee has decided to extend facility of tourist visa on arrival at Goa, Trivandrum, Bangalore, Hyderabad and Kochi airports .

According to the revised procedure foreign tourists sponsored by Indian travel agencies approved by the Ministry of Tourism and with a pre-drawn itinerary may be granted collective landing permit for a period not exceeding 60 days, with multiple entry facilities to enable them to visit neighbouring countries.

In order to avail of this facility the tourists or travel agencies shall mandatorily fill in an application online. The tourists or travel agencies shall also give an undertaking to conduct the group as per the itinerary and extend a further assurance that no individual would be allowed to drop out from the group at any place. The initiative follows tourism minister K Chiranjeevi’s meeting with home minister Sushil kumar Shinde recently to push for a more liberal visa regime to encourage tourism. It is hoped that this move will benefit the Indian economy.
Next Story
Share it