Millennium Post

Pacers fire Mah into semis

Maharashtra sailed into the semifinal of Ranji Trophy after their bowlers delivered the goods to defeat Andhra by 75 runs in the quarterfinal on Wednesday. Chasing 176 on the third day of the match, Andhra were folded up for 101, with Anupam Sanklecha being the most successful bowler with figures of four for 19 at the Bansi Lal Stadium.

Sanklecha was well-supported by Samad Fallah (2/33), Domnic Joseph (2/26) and Shrikant Mundhe (2/17). Earlier, Kedar Jadhav, overnight on 81, was dismissed on the score on Wednesday morning, but his innings paved the way for Maharashtra to have a total to defend.

For the record, Maharashtra had conceded a 47-run first-innings lead to the opposition, before riding on knocks played by Jadhav, Harshad Khadiwale (47) and Rahul Tripathi (43) to advance into the semifinals of the country’s premier domestic tournament. Sanklecha emerged as one of the most key players of the match, having taken eight wickets. He had figures of 4 for 45 in the first innings.

While none of the batsmen showed up in their second innings, D Siva Kumar was the best bowler for Andhra with figures of six for 79 that led to Maharashtra being bowled out for 223 in their essay.

In Jaipur, fine bowling by medium-pacer A Aswin Crist (3/47) helped Tamil Nadu take an upper hand by reducing Vidarbha to 206 for six on the third day. In reply to Tamil Nadu’s first innings total of 403, Vidarbha were struggling when the bails were taken off with Ravi Jangid unbeaten on 26.
Vidarbha still trail Tamil Nadu by 197 runs with only four wickets in hand.

Briefscores At Lahli: Maharastra 91 & 223 all out (K Jadhav 81; D Siva Kumar 6/79) vs Andhra 138 & 101 (Anupam Sanklecha 4/19, Shrikant Mundhe 2/17) Maharastra won by 75 runs.

At Indore: Karnataka 452 & 137/2 (Lokesh Rahul 73, R Samarth 54) vs Assam 185 all out (Gokul Sharma 58; Sreenath Arvind 3/36).

At Cuttack:
Mumbai 156 & 376 for seven (Akhil Herwadkar 161, Shreyas Iyer 82; Manan Sharma 4/89)vs Delhi 166.

At Jaipur: Tamil Nadu 403 all out vs Vidarbha 206 for six (Sachin Katariya 42; Aswin Crist 3/47).
Next Story
Share it