Millennium Post

Omar wins Beerwah, loses Sonawar

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah has won from Beerwah assembly seat by a margin of over 1000 votes. Omar had lost from Sonawar assembly constituency. 

Omar lost from Sonawar assembly seat of Srinagar district and won from Beerwah seat by a slim margin.  The 44-year-old chief minister tweeted ahead of declaration of results by the Election Commission, “Congratulations to Ashraf Mir (PDP) for his victory in Sonwar. I wish him & the people all good luck for the next 6 years. He’s now my local MLA.”  

It may be recalled that Omar Abdullah made his debut in the state politics with a defeat from Ganderbal assembly seat in 2002.
Next Story
Share it