Officers-in-Charge of 10 police stations reshuffled

Interestingly, both the OC and AOC of Bhowanipore police station have been changed. Though the senior police officers claimed it to be a routine transfer, a section of the rank and file has started considering it to be due to the murder of the 60-year-old woman at Bhowanipore.

It may be mentioned that Sunanada Gangopadhyay, who used to run an NGO to provide education to street children, were found murdered inside her house and local people alleged that there was a real estate developer behind her murder as she was not ready get evicted from her house.

Salil Kumar Roy, who was the AOC of Kalighat police station, has been promoted to the post of OC Bhowanipore police station.He replaced Debajit Chattopadhyay, who has become the OC of Beliaghata Police Station. 

The new AOC of Bhowanipore police station is Roshan Singh, who was in the city police’s Detective Department, replacing Manoj Kumar Jha who has been made the AOC of Alipre Police station.
The OCs of Maidan, Charu Market, Purba Jadavpur and Garfa were also changed. Mriganka Mohan Das, who was in Special Task Force, has been made the OC of Charu Market police station.

It may be mentioned that on Monday in another major reshuffle in the IPS cadre in West Bengal, four police commissionerates will have new chiefs, according to an order issued by the state home department on Monday.

Four IPS officers including Bharati Ghosh have been given additional charges.The new Commissioner of the Bidhannagar commissionerate is Gyanwant Singh, who was the IG (Western Range). Singh, whose name had come to light in Rizwanur Rahman case, was sent to the Enforcement Branch from his the then post of Deputy Commissioner (Headquarters) of the Kolkata Police in the Left Front regime. 

Before the change of guard in the state, he even had to work under a one batch junior officer in a battalion of the Kolkata Police.He had become DIG of Murshidabad district in 2014 and he was proved innocent in connection with the Rizwanur Rahman case in the departmental proceedings.

He was later promoted to IGP rank as Member Secretary of West Bengal Police Recruitment Board. 
Singh, who passed out from Benaras Hindu University with Chemistry, on Monday became the Commissioner of Police (CP) of Bidhannagar Police Commissionerate from the IG Western Zone.

Singh replaced Jawed Shamim, who became the new director of the Economics Offence Wing (EOW).
Laxmi Narayan Meena, the special additional commissioner of the Kolkata Police’s Traffic Department, has become the new commissioner of Asansol-Durgapur police commissionerate replacing Siddh Nath Gupta, who had become the Inspector General (Organisation).

Tanmay Ray Chaudhuri, who was SP of North 24-Parganas, is the new CP of Barrackpore Police Commissionerate and “he will also be supervising the work of SP North 24-Parganas”.
The new SP of the district is Bhaskar Mukherjee who was the deputy Commissioner of the Eastern Sub-urban Division of the Kolkata Police. Niraj Kumar Singh who was the CP of Barrackpore Commissionerate has become the IG of the Intellegence Branch (Border).

Chelling Simick Lepcha became the new CP of Siliguri Police Commissionerate replacing Manok Kumar Verma, who became the special IG and DIG (Traffic).Bharati Ghosh, who had been made the SP of West Midnapore a few days ago, has been given the additional charge of SP of Jhargram Police district.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it