Millennium Post

NTPC, SAIL, DVC among allottees for 38 coal mines

The move comes on the heels of the auction of 33 coal blocks in two tranches to private companies with the government garnering over Rs 2 lakh crore, surpassing CAG’s earlier estimates of losses of Rs 1.86 lakh crore on allotment without auction.

“Government has alloted 38 coal mines to central and state PSUs,” Coal Secretary Anil Swarup said. As per the original plan, the government had to allot 43 mines but it came out with the list of only 38 mines as there were no applications for some coal blocks, officials said.

All the blocks allotted are for the power sector, barring one Sitanala mine given

to SAIL. As per the government list, out of the 38 blocks, a maximum of 8 blocks -- Barjora, Barjora (North), Gangaramchak & Gangaramchak Bhadulia, Tara East & Tara West, Pachwara North and Kasta East have fallen in the bag of West Bengal Power Development Corporation Ltd.

Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd has been given six blocks - Baranj I, II, III & IV and Manora Deep and Kiloni. National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) bagged five mines -- Chhatti Bariatu, Chatti Bariatu (South), Kerandari, Talaipalli amd Dulanga.

Damodar Valley Corporation has been allotted Khagra Joydev block. Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam was allotted three blocks - Parsa East, Kanta Basan and Parsa, while Chattisgarh State Power Generation Company has been given three mines - Gare Palma Sector III, Gidhmuri and Patoria blocks.

Odisha Coal and Power got two blocks - Manoharpur and Manoharpur Dipside blocks. Most of these 38 blocks have gone to the earlier allocatees. The Supreme Court had in September cancelled the allocations of 204 blocks in all, terming the process as “fatally flawed”, leading the current round of auctions and allocations. NTPC said the blocks alloted to it will help boost power production. “Our over 24,000 MW capacity is under construction. The allocations will help us generate new capacity,” NTPC spokesperson said.

NTPC was the previous allottee of 5 blocks given to it, of which three fall in Jharkhand and one each in Chhattisgarh and Odisha.

Sitanala coal block in Jharkahnd, which has an estimated over 100 million tonnes (MT) of reserves, would help the state-owned steel maker SAIL to partially tide over its coking coal requirement for sometime. The block was earlier also allotted to SAIL.

Most of the mines allotted on Tuesday fall in West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra and Odisha while one - Tadicherla mine falls in the new state of Telangana. The Coal Ministry had earlier received 107 applications from PSUs for allocation of 43 coal blocks. 

Vesting of 3 mines subject to outcome of JSPL, other pvt firms’ pleas: HC

Delhi High Court on Tuesday said the Centre’s final vesting orders with regard to three coal blocks would be subject to the final outcome of pleas of companies which were prior allotees and had challenged the 2014 Coal Ordinance provisions.

A bench of justices B D Ahmed and Sanjeev Sachdeva passed the order with regard to the Jitpur and Dumri coal blocks in Jharkhand and Sial Ghoghri block in Madhya Pradesh which had been earlier allotted to Jindal Steel and Power Ltd (JSPL), Nilachal Iron and Power Ltd (NIPL) and Prism Cement Ltd respectively.
Next Story
Share it