Millennium Post

No winner’s trophy in Ind-B’desh women’s series

Indian women’s cricket team, currently leading the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh 2-0, may not get a Cup for their efforts as the BCCI has not sent any trophy to felicitate the winning team. The last match of the ODI series, which Indian eves have already won, is scheduled Friday. The hosts had earlier whitewashed Twenty20 series 3-0 against the same opponents but didn’t receive any trophy.

‘We have so far received no official communication from BCCi regarding any trophy for the winning team. In fact, there was no winner’s trophy for the three-match T20 series which India won last week in Vadodara,’ Gujarat Cricket Association secretary Rajesh Patel said on Thursday. Not only the winner’s trophy, there is no prize money for player of the match or the player of the series from India’s apex cricket governing body, he added. The BCCI has cited delay in organising this series as the reason for non availability of the trophy.

‘No trophy could be arranged for the series as it was organised at the last minute,’ BCCI’s general manager for game development, Ratnakar Shetty said. He added the prizes and awards to the best woman performer of the match and best woman performer of the series were not given in earlier bilateral series also.
Next Story
Share it