Millennium Post

No entry for e-rickshaws on 236 roads in Capital

E-rickshaws have been banned from operating on 236 roads in the national capital which are either highly congested or reserved for high speed and heavy vehicles. The transport department has come out with a list of 236 locations where “plying and idle parking” of e-rickshaws has been banned. A notification in this regard was issued on Thursday.

The step has been taken in an attempt to regulate the movement of e-rickshaws in the national
capital. The e-rickshaws had gone off city roads following a Delhi High Court ban on them which was imposed after a 3-year-old child died in a bizarre accident involving a rashly driven e-rickshaw at Trilokpuri in east Delhi on July 29. The central government last week, however, had approved amendments to the Motor Vehicle Act in order to give the battery operated vehicles a legal status.

According to the notification, 77 roads in New Delhi have been put under restriction for plying of e-rickshaws. The spots include Barakhamba Road, Tilak Marg, Rajpath, Ashoka Road, Tughlak Road, Shahjahan Road, Rafi Marg, Feroz Shah Road, Sansad Marg from T-Point Imtiaz Khan Marg to Outer Connaught Circus and Aurangzeb Road.

Apart from this, 38 roads have been identified for the prohibition of such vehicles in south Delhi. These include Lala Lajpat Marg, Aurobindo Marg, Lodhi Road, RTR, Nelson Mandela Marg, Siri Fort Road, NH-8, Aruna Asaf Ali Road.

23 roads including Ring Road, Capt. Gaur Marg, Mathura Road, Aurbindo Marg are also in the list. “It is necessary and in the interest of public safety and convenience to regulate the movement of e-rickshaws on the Delhi/New Delhi roads,” the notification said. In East, West and North East districts only nine routes each have been banned. In East Delhi, the government has banned e-rickshaw entry on Vikas Marg, UP Link Road, Shakarpur Chowk to Mother Dairy road. Pusta Road, GT Road and Loni Road have been declared banned zones. In the west, e-rickshaws have been banned from routes including Jail Road, Outer Ring Road, Payal Cinema Road and Mayapuri road.

Next Story
Share it