Millennium Post

Nitish elected JD(U) chief unopposed

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was on Tuesday elected unopposed as national president of Janata Dal (United) for the second consecutive time. Nitish got elected unopposed as no other candidate filed their nomination for the post till the deadline for filing nominations.

Ahead of Nitish being elected unopposed as national president there were some anxious moments for him as four state presidents from Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal, had raised voices of dissent and claimed that his election was a violation of the party constitution. 

The state presidents maintained that Kumar was becoming the national president of JD-U even before the completion all the organisational elections.

However, these voices of dissent failed to damage Nitish’s prospect who was once again taken charge of the party. The four state unit presidents have also been sacked from the party for six years for raising voices of dissent.

The Bihar CM became the party national president for the first time in April this year, when incumbent JD-U president Sharad Yadav refrained from getting another term as the party national president. Nitish is expected to announce his new team of officer-bearers soon.
Next Story
Share it