Millennium Post

Netherlands look to rekindle World T20 love affair

The Netherlands named a 15-man squad for the 2016 World Twenty20 in India, looking to rekindle the triumphs of 2009 and 2014 when they shocked England.

Key to their hopes will be all-rounder Logan van Beek who took 3-9 from two overs when the Dutch beat England by 45 runs in Chittagong two years ago.

That win followed their famous four-wicket triumph over the English at Lord's in the 2009 World Twenty20.

"This group has shown an immense amount of commitment to what we are trying to achieve on the field of play," said coach Anton Roux of a squad captained by Peter Borren.

Van Beek, who plays his club cricket at Canterbury in New Zealand, has 129 runs at a strike-rate of 107.5 and 40 wickets from 45 Twenty20 games.

The Netherlands reached the second stage Super 10s of the World Twenty20 in Bangladesh in 2014, chasing down 190 in under 14 overs to beat Ireland and secure their place amongst the elite nations of the game.This time around, the Dutch are drawn in Group A, along with Bangladesh, Ireland and Oman.

If they finish first in the group, they will join Group 2 for the Super 10s, along with India, Australia, New Zealand and Pakistan.

They begin their campaign against Bangladesh (March 9), followed by games against Oman (March 11) and Ireland (March 13), all to be played in Dharamsala.

Netherlands squad for the 2016 World Twenty20: Wesley Barresi, Logan van Beek, Peter Borren (captain), Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Timm van der Gugten, Vivian Kingma, Ahsan Malik, Paul Meekeren, Roelof van der Merwe, Stephan Myburgh, Max O'Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Sikander Zulfiqar.
Next Story
Share it