Millennium Post

Why Manmohan did not sign in impeachment notice?

Why Manmohan did not sign in impeachment notice?
NEW DELHI: Former Prime Minister and senior Congress leader Manmohan Singh wasn't one of the 64 Parliamentarians who on Friday signed a notice for the impeachment of the Chief Justice of India (CJI).
Congress leader Kapil Sibal confirmed this at a press conference, after several opposition parties, including the Congress, on Friday submitted a notice for the impeachment of CJI Dipak Misra to vice president Venkaiah Naidu.
Sibal said the party didn't involve Manmohan because of his stature as former Prime Minister of the country.
"We didn't involve him, he is an ex-PM," said Sibal.
As many as 64 Parliamentarians belonging to seven political parties today signed the notice for impeachment proceedings against Misra. They include MPs from the Cong, the NCP, CPM, the CPI, the SP, the BSP and the Muslim League. The move comes in the wake of the Supreme Court (SC) judgment of yesterday, which dismissed the demand for an investigation into the death of CBI judge BH Loya.
"Since CJI Dipak Mishra come, questions have been raised about his conduct. It showed in the January 12 press conference of four judges of Supreme Court. One concern of the four judges was memorandum of procedure was being unsettled," said Sibal after the parties submitted the impeachment notice to Naidu.
Sibal was referring to an extraordinary press conference called in January by four most senior SC judges.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it