Millennium Post

Shah, Irani take oath as Rajya Sabha members

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Amit Shah and Union Minister Smriti Irani on Friday took oath as Rajya Sabha members.
Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath of office to Shah and Irani in his chamber, who were elected to the Upper House from Gujarat earlier this month.
This is Shah's first Rajya Sabha stint while Irani entered the House for the second term.
While Shah took the oath in Hindi, Irani chose Sanskrit as the language of the oath.
Senior Cabinet Ministers Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj were also present on the occasion besides MoS Parliamentary Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief and Cabinet Minister Ram Vilas Paswan.
Next Story
Share it