Millennium Post

Rakesh is new BJP chief of MP

Rakesh is new BJP chief of MP
New Delhi: Ahead of the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections due by the year-end, the high command of the Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday appointed parliamentarian Rakesh Singh as the party's state unit chief.
Singh, an OBC face from Jabalpur constituency, will replace Nand Kumar Chauhan, who belongs to the Thakur community. He had been the BJP's state unit president since August 2014. The BJP national general secretary issued a letter on Wednesday appointing Rakesh Singh as the State party chief. His name was finalised in the BJP's state core group meeting in Bhopal on Tuesday night. The meeting was also attended by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and BJP organisational secretary Ram La.
The party top brass earlier hinted an organisational reshuffle, eyeing with the impending both Assembly elections in 2018 and Lok Sabha elections scheduled in 2019 since last one month, especially after the saffron party bagged the 'untouched' North-East. According to the party insiders and political pundits, major infightings and lackadaisical approach could dent the 'illustrious' image of the world's largest party.
Moreover, the party is looking for faces who would be able to move forward for the sake of the organisational reforms and so an unblemished relation with the central leadership.
A few days back Andhra Pradesh state chief K Hari Babu resigned from the post, and his Rajasthan counterpart Ashok Parnami a day later. However, both of them have been accommodated as the National Executive Members, according to an official statement by the BJP.
The 'heart of India' Madhya Pradesh, where caste equation plays a major role, putting a backward face like Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan, the party again is trying to woo the specific community.
While Union Minister and a prominent face of the state Narendra Singh Tomar, who belongs to the Rajput community, has been appointed as the head of the campaign committee.
State presidents for two other states - Rajasthan and Andhra Pradesh - will also be decided after taking thorough discussion with other state leaders and keeping all aspects in mind.
Next Story
Share it