Millennium Post

Over 70% voting in MP by-polls

Over 70% voting in MP by-polls
Bhopal: Bypolls to Mungaoli and Kolaras Assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh on Saturday recorded 77% and 70% voter turnout respectively. An Election Commission official said minor clashes between political workers were reported from some areas. While Ashoknagar District Collector K V S Choudary said 77.05% polling was recorded in Mungaoli, Shivpuri Collector Tarun Rathi said that the turn-out in Kolaras was 70.4 per cent.
Outcome of the two by-elections would be watched keenly as a possible pointer to people's mood ahead of the Assembly elections in the BJP-ruled state, due later this year.
The Congress has fielded Mahendra Singh Yadav from Kolaras and Brijendra Singh Yadav from Mungaoli, while the BJP has fielded Baisahab Yadav from Mungaoli and Devendra Jain from Kolaras.
Overall, 13 candidates are in fray in Mungaoli and 22 in Kolaras. Counting of votes would take place on February 28. The bypolls were necessitated due to the death of Congress' Mungaoli MLA Mahendra Singh Kalukheda and its Kolaras MLA Ram Singh Yadav.
Next Story
Share it