Millennium Post

Newly-elected AP MLAs take oath

Newly-elected AP MLAs take oath

Amaravati (AP): The newly-elected legislators of Andhra Pradesh Wednesday took oath as members of the state Assembly.

One MLA of the ruling YSR Congress could not attend due to personal reasons.

Protem Speaker S V C Appala Naidu administered the oath to the new members, beginning with Chief Minister Y S Jaganmohan Reddy and followed by Leader of Opposition N Chandrababu Naidu.

The 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly acquired new hues as the blue-white-green shades of YSR Congress dominated the members' rows.

The YSRC secured a landslide in the recent elections, winning a staggering 151 seats.

The Telugu Desam Party that ruled the state from June 2014 to May 2019 now has just 23 MLAs. The Jana Sena has only one MLA.

Both Jagan and Naidu greeted each other from a distance upon taking oath, but the courteous shaking of hands was missing. The 25 ministers were then sworn-in, followed by 11 women members.

The other members then took turns and the entire process that began at 11.05 am, ended around 4 pm, after a one-hour lunch break in between.

Only about half a dozen members took oath in English while all others did it in Telugu.

Nellore Rural MLA K Sridhar Reddy was made to take oath for a second time after he swore "in the name of Jagan" the first time.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it