Millennium Post

Neiphiu takes oath as CM of Nagaland for 4th term

Neiphiu takes oath as CM of Nagaland for 4th term
Kohima: Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party leader Neiphiu Rio was on Thursday sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister by Governor PB Acharya at a public function here.
This is Rio's fourth term as the chief minister of the northeastern state.
Rio is heading the People's Democratic Alliance government in partnership with the BJP in the state.
"We will bring change, we will work for all sections and we will leave no one behind. Thank you for your blessings and your support," he said in his address to the crowd after taking oath.
BJP's Y Patton took oath as deputy chief minister.
Ten other ministers were also administered oath by Acharya today. Of them, six are old-timers - JD(U)'s K Kaito Aye, NDPP's C M Chang and Neiba Kronu and BJP's S Pangnyu Phom, P Paiwang Konyak and N Jacob Zhimomi.
The first-timers, who were sworn in to the council of ministers, include Metsubo Jamir of the NDPP, Tongpang Ozukum, an Independent MLA, Temjen Imna Along and V Kashiho Sangtam of the BJP.
Tongpang and Along, both 37, are the youngest among the newly-appointed ministers.
Rio had staked claim to form the government on March 4 with the support of 32 legislators in the 60-member House - 18 MLAs of the NDPP, 12 of the BJP, one of the JD(U) and an Independent MLA.
The governor has asked the newly-elected chief minister to prove his majority on the floor of the House by March 16.
A galaxy of central leaders and the chief ministers of northeastern states descended on the Kohima Local Ground here to attend the swearing-in ceremony.
Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah and the party's general secretary Ram Madhav were among those present at the function.
Outgoing Chief Minister TR Zeliang also attended the event.
This is the first time common people were invited to the ceremony through newspaper advertisements, issued by the State Department of Information and Public Relations.
More than 25,000 people, including workers of political parties, witnessed the oath-taking ceremony, official sources said.

Team MP

Team MP

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it