Millennium Post

Govt appoints Sanjay Mitra Defence Secy

Govt appoints Sanjay Mitra Defence Secy
Road Transport and Highways Secretary Sanjay Mitra was on Wednesday named the country's next Defence Secretary. The Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC) has approved his appointment initially as Officer on Special Duty (OSD) in the Defence Ministry. The officer will take over as Defence Secretary on completion of tenure of the present incumbent G Mohan Kumar on May 24. Mitra, a 1982 batch IAS officer of West Bengal cadre, will have a fixed two-year tenure.

Shipping Secretary Rajive Kumar has been given additional charge of the post of Road Transport and Highways Secretary. Textiles Secretary Rashmi Verma will be Tourism Secretary, Anant Kumar Singh will be Textiles Secretary, Jagdish Prasad Meena will be Consumer Affairs Secretary, Leena Nair will be Tribal Affairs Secretary and Rakesh Srivastava will be Women and Child Development Secretary.
Next Story
Share it